Augusta Health Nursing Conference 2022

Conference Details


Date: Friday, September 16th 

Address: Blackburn Inn, 3o1 Greenville Ave, Staunton, VA 24401

Time: 8:00a-4:30p

(registration is from 7:30-8:30a)

*Image Source: Trip Advisor 


Two Augusta Health Nursing team members

Keynote Speakers

Dr. Sarah E. Gray

Dr. Sarah E. Gray is a creative visionary whose mission is to equip and empower others. She discovered her passion for service and transformational leadership during her 15 years in emergency and occupational medicine. She is currently the Chief Nursing Officer for Sigma Theta Tau International, Honor Society of Nursing (Sigma), a softball coach, mentor, yoga instructor, and mom of two. Dr. Gray is a presenter, author, and coach on practical solutions and inspirational topics. She has spoken around the world, equipping healthcare providers with knowledge and tools to impact their professional development, specializing in professional branding and leadership.

Diane Twedell, D.N.P., M.S., R.N., CENP

Diane Twedell, D.N.P., M.S., R.N., CENP, is a nurse administrator who works with the Mayo Clinic Care Network Chief Nursing Officer Affinity Group members domestically and internationally. She also is member of the due diligence review team and is active in health care consulting for nursing.  
Diane has been employed at Mayo Clinic for over 34 years with experience in nursing practice, education, and administration.   Her progressive leadership roles have spanned both the academic and community practices including most recently serving as Chief Nursing Officer within the Mayo Clinic Health System. Diane has significant experience presenting nationally and internationally on practice and leadership issues, published extensively, and has represented Mayo Clinic at the state legislature on many nursing related health policy issues.  
Diane has a Doctor of Nursing Practice degree from Rush University in Chicago and a Master of Nursing degree from the University of Minnesota. She is an assistant professor of nursing at Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science, and actively serves on several professional organizations including the American Organization for Nursing Leadership and Minnesota Organization of Leaders in Nursing.    

Dave Urso

Dave Urso was born and raised in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. He earned a B.S. in Conflict Resolution and an M.Ed. in Educational Psychology from James Madison University. He holds a Ph.D. in Educational Leadership from Colorado State University. Dave’s 12 years in the community college have included multiple appointments in student affairs, service as associate vice-president of development and the executive director of the educational foundation, and his current role as dean of academic affairs at Blue Ridge Community College in Weyers Cave, Virginia. Dave serves as president of Dynamic Consulting, a firm dedicated to building better nonprofits. Dave lives with his wife (Carrie), twin sons (Chase and Luke), and daughter (Belle) in Harrisonburg, Virginia.

Dave was recognized as the outstanding new professional at a two-year school by the Virginia Association of Student Personnel Administrators in 2005. In addition, he’s credited with helping country superstars Little Big Town achieve their meteoric rise (by purchasing each of their CDs), he’s bowled a 300-point game (on the Wii), and he owns and manages several rental properties and hotels (at least he does when he plays Monopoly).


Deb Zimmermann, DNP, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN

Deb Zimmermann, DNP, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN, is the Chief Executive Officer for the DAISY Foundation. The DAISY Foundation is the leader in the meaningful recognition of nurses worldwide.

Prior to joining DAISY, Deb served in the United States Army Nurse Corps, practiced as a nurse practitioner, and served in chief nursing officer positions in New York and Virginia. She is the president-elect of AONL and a fellow of the American Academy of Nursing.  She is past chair of the ANCC Commission on Magnet® and the AONL Foundation.

Deb is dedicated to strengthening the education and influence of nurses, the creation of collaborative interprofessional care environments, and quantifying the contribution of nurses in improving health outcomes.